Managing Account Settings

Product(s)
Video Cloud
Brightcove Player
Role(s)
Studio User
Topic(s)
Administration

This topic provides an overview of the Studio account settings options.

To access the Studio account settings, click the ADMIN link in the navigation header.

Note: You must be an account administrator to access the ADMIN menu.

Note: Your Studio version and account configuration will determine which ADMIN menu options are available.

The account settings menu provides the following options:

Manage Users

The Manage Users option allows you to manage the users who are authorized to use Studio. For more information on managing users, see Managing Users.

Account Information

The Account Information option allows you to edit the account name and mailing address and can be used to clone accounts. For more information, see Managing Account Information.

Upload Settings

Default to Inactive - When checked, sets all uploaded videos to be inactive. This option is ignored if the user has access to the Media module. This could be used to let a set of users upload videos but they will remain inactive until someone else approves them and then makes them active.

Required Fields - Select an option for how required fields are handled:

  • Required for activation - Required fields must have values before the video can be activated.
  • Required for upload - Required fields must have values before the video can be processed and uploaded using the Upload module.

Upload Additional Assets - When checked, allows poster and thumbnail images to be uploaded when videos are uploaded using the Upload module. The upload status dialog will display and provide the ability to select poster and thumbnail images to upload. For more information, see Uploading Videos Using the Upload Module.

Default Image Dimensions - These values can be used to set default image sizes for poster and thumbnail images. By configuring sizes as part of the Upload Settings, you can avoid having to set image dimensions in your ingest profiles. When these values are configured and your ingest profiles have image sizes as well, Video Cloud will use the following process to determine what dimensions to use for various types of image ingests:

  1. When you upload a video using the Upload module, Video Cloud will first look to see if there are image dimensions defined in the selected ingest profile. If the ingest profile has image dimensions, those dimensions will be used. If not, Video Cloud will check for dimensions in the following order:
    • Use image dimensions specified in the default ingest profile for the account
    • Use image dimensions specified in the Upload settings
    • Use global default image dimensions specified by Video Cloud
  2. If you upload a poster or thumbnail image from the video details page, or capture an image from the video details page, the image dimensions specified as part of the default ingest profile for the account will be used. If the default ingest profile does not have image dimensions, Video Cloud will check for dimensions in the following order:
    • Use image dimensions specified in the Upload settings
    • Use global default image dimensions specified by Video Cloud

If you want to always use the image dimensions specified as part of the Upload Settings, Brightcove recommends you set these values appropriately and then remove all image sizing from your ingest profiles.

Upload Queueing - Select an option for how file uploads are handled:

  • Allow concurrent uploads - Multiple files are uploaded concurrently
  • Upload one file at a time - Files are uploaded one at a time; this is recommended when large files are being uploaded

Ingest Profiles

The Ingest Profiles option allows you to manage the ingest profiles your Video Cloud account. For more information on managing ingest profiles, see Managing Ingest Profiles.

Video Fields

The Video Fields option allows you to mark standard video fields as required and also allows you to view, create, and modify custom metadata fields for your account. For more information on configuring video fields, see Creating Custom Metadata Fields.

Media Sharing

The Media Sharing option allows you to upload videos once and then share the videos to other Video Cloud accounts. For more information on media sharing, see Managing Media Sharing Settings.

Live Settings

The Live Settings allow you to manage the settings for Brightcove Live. For more information, see Managing Live Settings.

Analytics Settings

The Analytics Settings allow you to set the default reporting time zone for the account. The reporting time zone is used to calculate day boundaries for reporting data. Changing the reporting time zone setting only affects data going forward, and changes are not applied retroactively. If you change this setting, you may see a flat spot or a spike in your analytics data when looking at day boundaries where the change was applied. Updates to this setting may not take effect immediately and analytics data may continue to refer to the old setting until the system processes the changes.

Server-Side Ad Settings

The Server-Side Ad Settings allow you to manage both Live and VOD server-side ad configurations. For more information, see Configuring Server-Side Ad Settings.

Player Settings

Basic Authentication - Provides the option of using basic username and password authentication for access to the Player Management and Delivery System APIs. If this option is not enabled, API authentication must be used.

Player Mapping - Provides the ability to create player mapping for use in the Directed Migration Tool. The Directed Migration Tool provides a way to specify that a Brightcove Player should be loaded instead of a Smart Player.

API Authentication

The API Authentication option allows you to create and manage API credentials. For more information on managing API credentials, see Managing API Authentication Credentials.

Billing

The Billing option allows you to view billing information for the account. For more information on billing, see Viewing Billing Information.