Getting Started with the Players Module

Product(s)
Video Cloud
Brightcove Player
Role(s)
Studio User
Task(s)
Create & Configure Players
Get Started using Brightcove Player Studio
Get Started using Video Cloud Studio

This topic provides an overview of the Players module which is used to used to create and manage video players.

 

If you are looking to quickly get started creating and publishing a player, check out the Quick Start: Using the Players Module to Create and Publish a Player topic.

Using the Players module

To access the Players module, login to Studio and click Players in the navigation header. Video Cloud Studio is shown below. The Brightcove Player Studio UI will have minor differences.

The body of the page will display:

  • Player name
  • Player ID
  • Updated date and time
  • Player status
    • - Indicates that changes have been made to the player but the changes have not been published
    • - Indicates that the player is activated and all changes made to the player have been published
    • - Indicates that the player is inactive

Using the Players module, you can:

Creating a new player

To create a new player using the Players module:

  1. Click the New Player button.
  2. Enter a name and short description for the player and then click Save.
  3. The new player will appear in the list of players.

Note: A maximum of 200 players can be created. Brightcove discourages the creation of a large numbers of players but, if this is necessary, please contact your Account Manager and request an increase in the number of players you can create.

When a new player is created using the Players module, the player is built using the latest player version as published by Brightcove. To see the player version, open the Players module and click on the player that you want to check. The Player Information section will display the player version.

Note that all players may not be the same version. As Brightcove continues to develop and improve the Brightcove player, new player versions will be released. By default, updates are applied to all players automatically. To prevent auto-updating of a player, you must set the Update Mode setting to Manual (also known as locking a player). For more information, see Setting the Player Update Mode and Version.

Editing player properties

There are numerous player properties that can be configured to customize the look and feel of the player:

  • Player Information
  • Styling
  • Playback
  • Controls
  • Social
  • Plugins
  • End screens
  • Advertising
  • Content Restriction
  • Audience
  • Video Content (Brightcove Player Studio only)

To edit the player properties, click an item in the left navigation menu. For information on configuring player properties, see Setting Player Properties.

Note: Any changes made to a player may take up to 5 minutes to appear in published players.

Duplicating a player

Duplicating a player allows you to create a new player based upon an existing player. To duplicate a player in the Players module:

  1. Check the box next to the player you want to duplicate.
  2. Click the Duplicate button.
  3. Enter a Name and Short Description for the player.
  4. Click Save.

Deleting players

Deleting a player removes it from your account and cannot be undone. To delete a player in the Players module:

  1. Check the box next to the player(s) you want to delete.
  2. Click the Delete button.
  3. Confirm the deletion by clicking Delete.

The Search field can be used to search the players in your account. When searching, the following fields are searched:

  • Player name
  • Player ID
  • Short description

Previewing a player

To preview a player, click the Player Preview button. The player will open in the preview dialog.

Generating the embed code and URL for a player

The Embed Code & URL button can generate the player embed code and URL for the preview player or the published player. Typically, the preview player embed code and URL are used to preview the changes being made to a player. This gives you the ability to see the changes in action before publishing the player out to a production site. Once a player is published, changes will be reflected in all instances of that particular player.

For information on the differences between the preview player and published player and on generating the embed code for a player, see Generating Player Embed Code.

Keyboard shortcuts

Pressing the ? key in the Players module will open a list of the shortcut keys that are available.