Setting the Player Update Mode and Version

ProductVersionEdition
Video CloudNew StudioExpress I, Express II, Express III, Professional, Enterprise

This topic provides an overview of the player update mode and version settings that can be configured in the Players module.

As part of the Player settings, the update mode and player version can be configured. The update mode controls how player updates are handled. The player version is used to set the player version. Being able to control the update mode and player version provides these benefits:

  • Publishers can try pre-release player versions without having to use the API
  • Publishers can control when player updates are made

This topic contains the following sections:

Setting the player update mode

The player update mode setting controls how player updates are handled. To edit the player update mode, follow these steps.

  1. Open the Players module.
  2. Click on a player to open the player properties.
  3. Locate the Settings section and click Edit or double-click in the section.
  4. Select an Update Mode. Both Automatic and Manual modes are available.

    Automatic player updates

    Automatic is the default mode. Automatic causes the player to be updated whenever Brightcove promotes a player version to “current default” status. There may also be one or more pre-releases that you can select when in automatic mode. Selecting a pre-release while keeping the automatic mode set will cause the version to be updated to the pre-release now, and then auto-updated to the current default later, when a new version is promoted to “current default” status.

    Manual player updates

    In Manual mode, players will not be automatically updated. This is also referred to as "locking" the player. Any player updates will be initiated manually by the publisher. Publishers will be able to choose from a list of available versions (at least the most recent pre-release and the most recent current default versions, as well as the current version of the player). After a new version is selected, publish the player to apply that version to all production players.

    Note that while a player is locked you will not get the benefit of player enhancements and bug fixes. At some point, old versions of the player will no longer be supported. You should use the Manual mode only as a temporary solution while you resolve conflicts between the existing version of the player and the latest version.

  5. Click Save.

Make sure to publish any changes that are made to the player.

Setting the player version

The player version is used to set the player version. If a new player version is available, a message will be displayed.

To edit the player version, follow these steps.

  1. Open the Players module.
  2. Click on a player to open the player properties.
  3. Locate the Settings section and click Edit or double-click in the section.
  4. Select a Player Version.
  5. Click Save.

Make sure to publish any changes that are made to the player.

Related Topics