Updating Gallery Templates

Product(s)
Gallery
Role(s)
Studio User
Topic(s)
Templates

In this topic you will learn how to update a Gallery experience to use a new template version.

All Gallery experiences are based upon a template. When you create a new experience, the first step is to select a template to use. The template controls the overall layout and styling of the experience. Over time, new features and enhancements may be made to templates by Brightcove. Brightcove will not push major template updates out to exiting experiences. Publishers are responsible for upgrading their experiences to use new templates and then for testing before publishing.

Note: This topic applies to Portal, Landing Page and Event experiences only.

This topic contains the following sections:

Determining when template updates are available

If you have any experiences that require template updates, a banner will be displayed at the top of the page when the Gallery module is opened. Click the link to display only the experiences that require template updates.

update required banner

The filter at the top of the page can also be used to display the experiences that require a template update.

filter template update required

All experiences that require a template update will display a Template Status of Needs Update.

needs update status

Note: It is possible to have experiences using different versions of the same template. For example, when an update to the Marquee template is available, the Needs Update status will only appear on Marquee sites that require a template update. You may have other Marquee sites that were built using the latest version of the Marquee template that do not require an update.

For information on the template update, click the View Details link on the right side of the page.

view details link

Clicking the link will display a dialog with the template update details.

template update info

Click Cancel to close the dialog or Start Update to begin the template update.

Applying a template update to an experience

To update a template, follow these steps.

  1. Click the View Details link to review the changes to the template.

    Note: You may see a Template Status of Resume Update if the template update has been applied and the experience hasn't been published.

  2. Click Start Update. The template update will be applied to the experience and the Gallery Site Editor will open.

    Note: You may see a Template Status of Resume Update button if the template update has been applied and the experience hasn't been published.

  3. Click the Preview your site link. A preview using the new template will open in a new browser tab. Review the site to make sure any player customizations, custom CSS/JavaScript, custom header/footer and any other customizations you made are displaying correctly.
  4. (Optional) Click the discard the update link or Discard Update button to discard the template update.
  5. To publish the site with the updated template, click Publish.
    publish site dialog

Once the site is published using the updated template, there is no way to access the older template.

Discarding a template update

Click the discard the update link or Discard Update button to discard the template update.

discard message

You will be prompted to discard the update.

confirm discard dialog

Click Discard Update to revert the site back to using the older version of the template. Note that Brightcove recommends updating to the latest version of templates. If you discard the update, at some point, older versions or templates will not be supported by Brightcove.