|Video Cloud||Express I, Express II, Express III, Professional, Enterprise|
The Brightcove Mobile Upload app is a free iPhone app that lets you upload videos to your Brightcove Video Cloud account from your phone making it possible to publish videos recorded from your phone in minutes.
Note: The Brightcove Mobile Upload app is no longer supported by Brightcove. The Upload module in the New Video Cloud Studio can be used to upload videos on both iOS and Android devices. For more information, see Uploading Videos Using the Upload Module.
After logging into the app with your Video Cloud Studio email address and password, you can choose an existing video from your iPhone’s photo album, and then upload it to any of your Video Cloud accounts. The application also lets you add a title, description, and playlist tags for the video with your upload. Application settings allow you to enable or disable live publishing, configure a default set of tags that are associated with videos, and determine whether a title, description and tags can be added to videos.
You can get the Brightcove Mobile Upload app from iTunes at this address: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brightcove-mobile-upload/id393580992?mt=8
The Brightcove Mobile Upload app supports iPhone 3GS or newer and iPod Touch devices running iOS 4.0 or newer. A Video Cloud account is also required. This release does not support iPad.
Note that you must update the Mobile Upload app to the latest version (1.3.4) for compatibility with iOS 6 and 7.
To assure that recorded files can usually be transferred using Wi-Fi and 3G, the Brightcove Mobile Upload app compresses all videos to Apple’s recommended Medium quality setting before uploading. Mobile Upload is not a solution for publishing the highest quality videos.
Videos recorded using the Browse & Upload method support the aspect ratio of the native camera. The 16:9 aspect ratio is only available for the iPhone 4, the iPhone 3GS, and iPod touch. The iPhone 4 front-facing camera supports an aspect ratio of 4:3.
After tapping to upload your video, you will see an upload screen with a progress bar. Videos that upload successfully report a COMPLETE confirmation on the upload screen. Failed uploads will display FAILED on the upload screen, and offer a Try Again button.
If you navigate away from the Mobile Upload app after sending a video for upload, or if your device locks from inactivity, Mobile Upload will notify you with an alert confirming a successful or failed upload.
If your video failed to upload be sure:
You have the option to enter the title, description, and tags for your video after selecting it for upload. Each of these fields are optional and all display by default. The Mobile Upload app does not conform to metadata assurance, wherein videos with empty required fields upload as inactive. The mobile app does not force required fields, and videos upload from the mobile app as active, even for accounts implementing metadata assurance.
To display or hide fields for capturing metadata:
When determining which information to capture with your video keep in mind:
If you have multiple Video Cloud Studio accounts and you bypass the metadata screen by turning off all Info to Capture values, you lose the option of selecting an upload account before sending your video, and a video will upload to the last selected account. To change upload accounts in this case, temporarily turn on one of these values so that you can select another account.
You have the option to set your videos so that they upload in a deactivated state in your Video Cloud Media Library. To do this, tap Settings from the home screen. Then in the Default Publishing Settings section of the Account Setting screen, set Publish Live to Off. Publish Live is set to On by default.
Note: Simply enabling the Publish Live switch in the mobile app's Account Settings will not assure live publication of your videos uploaded from your mobile device. Uploaded videos still need to be published to a Video Cloud player. If you use smart playlists in your published players, you must apply the appropriate tags to your videos. For manual playlists or single video players, you must use Video Cloud Studio to complete your publishing. For more on strategies for publishing videos directly from your phone, see Publishing videos directly from your phone.
If you typically assign videos taken from your phone with the same tags, you can bypass the step of entering those for each upload by setting default tags. To assign default tags:
The current default tags will be set as metadata for every uploaded video thereafter until you change them. Any tag you enter at upload using the metadata screen will be added to the default tags. You can opt to disable entering tags manually at upload by turning off the Tags capture setting as described in Adding titles, descriptions, and tags to your uploaded video.
You can enable a phone-to-publish solution, wherein you can automatically publish videos uploaded from your mobile phone using Mobile Upload. Here is one method you can use to dynamically add videos to players immediately after they are uploaded:
To streamline the upload process so that uploads happen in one tap, you can bypass entering the title, description, and tags from the metadata capture screen by hiding those fields. To do this, turn off Title, Description and Tags from the Info to Capture section of the Account Settings screen.
If you are having problems getting your videos to upload, Brightcove Support is available to help. You can submit a case here. To make sure you get the fastest response possible, below is a list of what support will need to solve the problem.
After your case is submitted, you will receive an email confirmation from Brightcove Support. To provide additional information on your case to Brightcove Support, reply to the confirmation email.