|Video Cloud||Express I, Express II, Express III, Professional, Enterprise|
In this topic you will learn how to edit video properties in the Media module.
In the Media module, you can edit the properties of a single video or select multiple videos and edit the properties for all of the selected videos at the same time. You can edit the properties for up to 100 videos at the same time. This can save you considerable time if you have a large volume of videos.
If you aren't familiar with the Media module, read Getting Started with the Media Module, which provides a tour of the Media module and explains how to launch it.
This topic includes the following sections that show you how to edit different video properties in the Media module:
To edit the properties of a video, use the following steps:
Alternately, click the up arrow on the Edit button to jump directly to a particular set of video properties (Basic, Advanced, Availability, Logo Overlay, Video Files, or Cue Points).
You may also click on the Edit link or icon for the property in the Details pane to open that video property in the editor. Note that when you edit a video from the Details pane, you edit only the video presented in the Details pane, even if you have more than one video selected in the data grid.
Note: Changes you make to a video's properties apply globally to all instances of that video, in every playlist.
In the Edit Video: Basic edit page, you can select the property to edit by clicking its checkbox or clicking in the field. Selected properties are highlighted for easy reference. You can edit or add:
When you have finished editing the Basic properties, either click Save Changes or select one of Advanced, Availability, Logo Overlay, Video Files, or Cue Points to edit more properties.
See this document for a list of special characters that are supported in the title, descriptions, tags, and custom field values.
If your Video Cloud account has advertising enabled, you can use the Edit Video: Advanced page to define the advertising and distribution policies for the video and set a bumper.
You can choose whether or not ads may be shown when viewers watch the selected video(s). If you allow ads to be shown, you can also force an ad request for the selected videos.
Note: You can also configure these settings from the Advertising module. It is important to understand that the selections you make in the Media module have the same effect on your videos as the selections made in the Advertising module, and vice versa. The Advertising settings are shared (in other words, they are the same settings) regardless of which module you set them from. You can view or edit these settings in either of the two modules. If you change these settings in one module, your change is reflected in the other modules.
You can edit ad policies for videos and players in the Advertising module.
You can associate a captions file to a video. The captions file can be hosted on your servers or uploaded as part of the video metadata and stored by Brightcove. To learn more about captioning, see Displaying Captions for a Video.
You can set a bumper, which is a short video clip, to play before the selected videos.
You can control whether to allow sharing of publishing code for blogs. Viral sharing allows your viewers to syndicate individual videos from your players and is a necessary setting to enable the "get code" button in the player. You can disallow this by selecting No under Distribution options: Allow viral distribution for this video.
Note that selecting No for this option only disables the sharing of the player code for blogs. The email and social sharing buttons will still appear and be functional. These options can only be disabled at the player level.
Note that enabling advertising and ad key/value pairs can also be set at the player level, using the Advertising module. For more information, see Setting Ad Policies for Players. You can also set bumpers at the player level, using the Publishing module. For more information, see Editing Settings for Players with the Publishing Module.
Video scheduling and geo-filtering are not available for Video Cloud Express customers. If you are interested in upgrading your Video Cloud account so that you can edit Availability properties, please contact Brightcove for more information.
In the Availability tab, you can schedule the availability of a video by selecting a start date, an end date, or both. For example, you can choose to have a video be available indefinitely, starting at a specific date and time. By default, videos have no scheduling information and are available immediately and indefinitely when they are active. The Availability tab displays the time zone set for your user profile by default. You can change this time zone in your Profile settings page from the Video Cloud Studio Home page.
Note: Scheduling a video has no effect on whether a video is, or becomes, active or deactive. Scheduling only effects videos that are active. See the Activating, deactivating, and deleting videos section below for more information on activating and deactivating videos.
If your Video Cloud account has geo-filtering enabled, you can use the Availability tab to specify that a video is only available in limited geographic areas. Read more about geo-filtering videos.
Logo overlays display a logo in the corner of the video player window. Optionally, your logo overlay can link to a web site you specify. In the Edit Video: Logo Overlays page, when you enable using a logo overlay, you can edit:
You can set logo overlays at the account level using the Video Cloud Studio Account Settings page. If you have a logo overlay set at the account level and also set a logo overlay for a video, the logo overlay set for the video will display and the account level logo overlay will not display.
You can also set your account to add a burned-in logo to your videos when they are uploaded and transcoded. In most cases, you don't want your video to have both a burned-in logo and a logo overlay, so don't add a logo overlay to your video if it already has a burned-in logo. You can check whether a video has a burned-in logo by previewing it in the Media module.
You can also add and control logo overlays using the Player API, as shown in this example.
Each of your videos has at least one video file. It may have more than one if you are Using Multi-bitrate Streaming. After you have created a video, you might want to replace the video file with a new version. See Replacing an Existing Video for details on how to do that.
You can download any rendition file of your videos delivered by progressive download or universal delivery service from the Video Cloud Media module. To download a video uploaded to Video Cloud do the following:
Note: You can download a copy of an H.264 video you originally uploaded to Video Cloud if, when you uploaded multiple renditions, you selected add H.264 source as rendition. In this case, select the largest rendition with the highest resolution. See Uploading Videos with the Media Module for specifics.
In the Edit Video: Cue Points edit screen, you can add or remove cue points for the video. Read Setting Cue Points in the Media Module for details.
To activate or deactivate a video, select the video and click the Activate or Deactivate button in the action toolbar. You can select one video at a time, or you can select multiple videos to activate or deactivate. The icons to the left of the video in the Media Library identify whether it is active or not. A video that is not active remains in your Media Library and in any playlists it is part of, but cannot be played in any player.
To delete a video from the Media Library, select the video and click Delete in the action toolbar. At the prompt, click Delete. You can delete one or many videos at the same time. You cannot delete a video that is currently part of a manual playlist.
You can also access the edit page for a video's properties in the Details pane.
Click Edit or the adjacent icon to edit:
Note the following: